Campaign and the Family

In light of all of the Mother’s Day festivities, I couldn’t help but reflect on where the last 18 months have gone. My daughter has truly been a campaign baby. I call her my patriot in training. Every day when I finish work, I get on the phone and call voters for 3 hours. I can hear my little girl, Nakisa, laughing and squalling with my wife, playing some game or working on a project. Every laugh and giggle I hear from her is one less moment I will be able to spend with her until the campaign has concluded. So I find the best ways possible to spend time with her. She goes out on the campaign trail with me, meets with voters, attends meet and greets and is just a pure joy to be with. However, there are times when I am knocking on doors for 7-8 hours that she cannot be with me. Every door I knock on brings me 1 door closer to being back with my little girl and wife. When someone comes to a door and says they don’t have time or don’t care, I wish I could sit with them and tell them what I am sacrificing to turn our country around.

But I hold back. I think about our brave servicemen and servicewomen away from their families for 6-12 months at a time, with only pictures or some videos to keep in touch. It puts it in perspective my small sacrifice for our country compared to the great sacrifice they make. For those children whose parents are away, I keep knocking on doors so that I can help to bring them back home.

At night, sometimes at one in the morning when I am writing letters to people I have spoken with, I take a few moments and watch her on the baby monitor. She is at peace, sleeping soundly and knows completely what pure love means. What she does not know is that she is going to be entering a very scary world in a few years; a country that is being torn apart by politicians in office who have put our great country on a path of destruction. A country where double talk is standard and political expediency is an everyday term; a country where we would rather know about American Idol contestants than learning about James Madison and the Constitution, and a country that apologizes for being great and special when we should be celebrating our greatness every day.

So what can one person do to fix this? Quite honestly, that is the question for the ages. I cannot tell you how many times I have been asked, “How can you make a difference in this corrupt system?” My answer is always the same: our character is judged by the work we do and the weight of our word. In this campaign, I live, sleep and breathe helping the 53rd District. My work ethic is second to none, my word is gold and my convictions are consistent. At one point in history, our statesmen were our heroes. Today, it is a baseball player, a singer or an actor. We can return to a better day when teachers, statesmen, scientists and veterans were our heroes. That is the country I want to live in and that is the country I want for my daughter.

So the next time I knock on your door or call you on the phone, consider dialoguing with me about where our country is going and what part the Representative from the 53rd District should have in that direction. A day is coming when it will be too late to redirect our course and avert a national collapse of freedoms and prosperity. We are so far in debt that our GDP is going to equal our debt payments in a few years. Our military will be gutted to a skeleton of its former self and our education system will be broke because we ran all our companies out of America. This is a country that I refuse to give my daughter. I will struggle to my last breath to take back our country from people who are destroying it and put us back on a path to fiscal responsibility, peace through strength and a generation of children built on the world’s best education system. Our Constitution means something to me and it will mean something to my daughter.

History is a record of individuals doing great things and changing their times. It is also a story of groups of people joining together to resist tyranny and poverty. In running for Congress in the 53rd Congressional District, I seek to be both – both an individual who takes a stand as well as a member of a group of people who challenge their circumstances and accomplish great things together. The group I am referring to is not only the 53rd; it is the millions of Americans across this great land that are joining together right now to reinstate the great principles of government that this land was founded on.

Over the next several weeks I will need any and all support that you can lend to this campaign to change business-as-usual policies in Washington. To help follow the links below:

Contact me about volunteering: matt@friedmanforcongress.org

Donate today! https://friedmanforcongress.org/flash/donation.php

Follow my blog: http://www.mattforcongress.wordpress.com

Look me up on Facebook and Twitter!

Humbly,

Matt Friedman

Leave a Reply

